In our previous article titled "healing crystals and the science behind it", we spoke about healing crystals and their natural vibrations which are very helpful to our natural vibrations and match with our energy field, Chakras. 

So what are chakras and why do we need them? How many do we have? These must be the questions in your mind now. Let us help you address it: 

What are chakras? 

In Sanskrit, the word Chakra means ‘Wheels’ which refers to the energy wheels we have that keeps our bodies running and performing at their best. However, these chakras can slow down be it due to stressful situations, depression, or difficult circumstances. When our chakras are not performing their best the result shows in the form of illnesses, discomfort or diseases. Thus it is important to help clear the blockages and keep these wheels running optimally again. The benefit of placing a crystal on a chakra is to help it get moving again. 

How many chakras do we have?

The answer is 7. Human bodies have 7 chakras namely Root Chakra, Sacral Chakra, Solar Plexus Chakra, Heart Chakra, Throat Chakra, Third Eye Chakra and Crown Chakra.

Root Chakra (Muladhara chakra)
Root Chakra is located at the base of the spine near the tailbone and often associated with the color red. When one feels insecure about well being or finances, one could face health issues like constipation or arthritis signifying a blocked root chakra.
Sacral Chakra (Svadhishthana chakra)
Sacral Chakra is located near the belly button just above the pubic bone and is often associated with Orange color. This chakra is usually connected to our feelings of self worth around sexuality, pleasure and creativity. 
Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura chakra)
Solar Plexus Chakra is located in the abdomen near the stomach area as is often associated with the color yellow. This chakra is related to your emotions of self confidence and self esteem. Issues such as indigestion, heartburns, ulcers could be implying a blocked Solar Plexus Chakra. 
Heart Chakra (Anahata chakra)
The heart chakra is located in the center of the chest and is often associated with the color green. This chakra is related to your ability to love and feel compassion. Health issues such as asthma, heart problems and weight issues could imply that the Heart Chakra is blocked.
Throat Chakra (Vishuddha chakra)
This chakra as its name suggests is located at the throat and often associated with the color blue. This chakra is directly related to your ability to communicate verbally. Any problems in the area whether in the throat, teeth or gums could imply a blocked throat chakra. Sometimes dominating conversations, gossiping, speaking without thinking, and having trouble speaking your mind are also caused by a blocked throat chakra. When your throat chakra is in alignment, you will speak and listen with confidence, feel compassion and be true to your words.
Third Eye Chakra (Ajna chakra)
Located between the eye and the forehead, this chakra is commonly referred to as Third Eye Chakra or the Brow Chakra. This chakra is often associated with the color indigo. Issues such as headache, sinus, concentration, or sight can indicate a blockage at the Third Eye Chakra. When this chakra is unblocked one feel more aligned with one’s intuition.
Crown Chakra (Sahasrara chakra)
Located at the very top of the head, this chakra is often associated with the color violet or white. This chakra is usually connected to intelligence and awareness. The crown chakra is linked to every other chakra in the body.  A blocked crown chakra may cause one to seem narrow-minded, skeptical, or stubborn. When this chakra is unblocked, all the other chakras open and bring the person bliss and enlightenment. 
Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.